Resource planning in Tempo

 

In Tempo Planner Resources are all the people in your organization to whom you can assign work - including yourself. 

The Resource Planning view

The Resource Planning view is the main Tempo Planner view. It provides an overview of resource capacity that lets you see at a glance who has available hours and who’s overbooked, and lets you effectively manage resources from an integrated space. 

You can simply click a resource to view expand the view and see details about their plans, including who approved the plan. You can also see at glance the plan's approval status, and easily manage current plans -- and quickly create new ones.

Plan_ResPL_2018-05-04.png

The Resource Planning view gives you:

  • A weekly view for day-to-day planning, and a monthly view for a longer-term planning
  • Powerful filtering functions to help you find the resources you need
  • Flexible viewing options that let you quickly focus on a short-term planning, or take a longer-term view
  • Planning based on fixed hours to ensure accurate data
  • Planning with a start and end time for time-sensitive tasks
  • An integrated capacity report

Reviewing your Resource Plans

By default, the Resource Planning view shows you the planned workload for available resources and shows you planned work for the current week. You can click the Display Options drop-down at the upper-left switch between a weekly and monthly view, and set other viewing options. 

You can refine your view using the Filter dropdown at the top of the page to show only the members you want see. There are three different ways to filter the content, and they can be combined as you like:

  • Users. Select a user to show. The user will be added to the resource overview.
  • Teams. Select a team to show. The team will be added to the resource overview.
  • Roles. Select a role to show. Users and teams who have been assigned this role are displayed.

The Resource Planning view shows you how your resources are allocated on each day:

  • A green check mark indicates that a resource is fully allocated.
  • A yellow "progress" bar shows you visually the relative amount of available hours allocated.
  • A red bar indicates that a resource is fully-allocated, or over-allocated.

By expanding the rows under each of your resources, you can see at a glance the status of plans:

  • a white background indicates that a plan is improved.
  • a grey background indicates a plan that is in review.
  • a shaded plan with gray text indicated a plan that has been rejected.

Creating, editing, and deleting plans

You can use the Resource Planning view to create, edit, and delete plans.

To create plans:

  1. Navigate to the Resource Planning view using Planning > Resources.
  2. Hover over a cell to display the + add plan icon.
  3. Enter information about the plan in the Plan Work dialog.

To edit plans:

  1. Navigate to the Resource Planning view using Planning > Resources.
  2. Select the resource whose plans you wish to edit, and click the > to the left of the name to view the individual plans for that user. 
  3. Click on a plan.
  4. Edit the information about the plan in the Plan Work dialog.

To delete plans:

  1. Navigate to the Resource Planning view using Planning > Resources.
  2. Select the resource whose plans you wish to edit, and click on the > to the left of the name to view the individual plans for that user. 
  3. Mouseover the plan until a X appears in the top-right corner of the plan, then click on it to delete the plan.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.