Granting time-tracking permissions

Required Tempo product: Tempo Timesheets for Cloud

Required permission: JIRA Administrators 

1. Grant 'Work on Issues’ permission to users

The 'Work on Issues' permission is necessary for users to be able to log work into their projects. You might want to grant every user this permission for the default project permission scheme in JIRA.

  1. Click the Gear Icon.
  2. Select Issues.
  3. Scroll down to Permission schemes.
  4. Click the Permissions link of the scheme that you want to edit.
  5. Under Time tracking permissions, scroll down to locate Work on Issues, and click 'Edit'.
  6. Grant permissions by project role, application access, or group. If you click on ‘Show more’, you will see more options beyond the three default ones.

 

2. Grant ‘Log Work for Others’ permission to users

The 'Log Work for Others' permission allows one user to log work for another user. You might want to grant this permission to manager or team leads who need to log work for absent or busy team members. You can also grant this permission separately for each project.

  1. Click the Gear Icon.
  2. Select Issues.
  3. Scroll down to Permission schemes.
  4. Click the Permissions link of the scheme that you want to edit.
  5. Under Time tracking permissions, scroll down to locate Log Work for Others, and click 'Edit'.
  6. Grant permissions by project role, application access, or group. If you click on ‘Show more’, you will see more options beyond the three default ones. 

 

3. Grant ‘View All Worklogs’ permission to users

The 'View All Worklogs' permission allows one user to see all worklogs in a project. You might want to grant this permission to managers or team leads who need to view all workloads for their team. You must grant this permission separately for each project.

  1. Click the Gear Icon.
  2. Select Issues.
  3. Scroll down to Permission schemes.
  4. Click the Permissions link of the scheme that you want to edit.
  5. Under Time tracking permissions, scroll down to locate View All Worklogs, and click edit.
  6. Grant permissions by project role, application access, or group. If you click on ‘Show more’, you will see more options beyond the three default ones.

 

4. Grant edit and delete worklogs permissions to users

Permissions to edit and delete worklogs are JIRA permissions. See the JIRA documentation: Managing project permissions, and refer to the ‘Time-tracking Permissions’ section.

 

Note 1: If your version of Tempo Timesheets for Cloud does not include the Tempo Sidebar, see the Tempo Timesheets 7.20 cloud documentation instead. 

 

Useful links to JIRA documentation

JIRA Cloud Documentation

  

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 4 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.