How have internal issues changed with the migration?

What has changed?

With the migration, we've simplified and standardized the way we use internal issues in Tempo. Here's how internal issues have changed:

  • Work on Issues permissions and Browse Project permissions are now required to work on internal issues. This was a necessary change to conform with the permission requirements of JIRA.
  • View All Worklogs permissions are now required to identify worklogs in the issue history.
  • It's no longer necessary to create internal activities for vacation planning or other untracked time. You can now use internal issues to plan, as well as log work.
  • Some JQL queries have changed. To return all internal issues (that the user has permission to browse), instead of using issuekey in internalIssues(), use issue.internal = "TRUE".

How do I create and configure internal issues?

Your old internal issues will still be visible after the migration, but we recommend creating a new set of internal issues. This gives you the option to configure the permissions to ensure that viewing and editing rights are configured exactly as you wish, and ensures that your legacy worklogs remain private.

Creating internal issues

It is best to store all internal issues in a dedicated project, to simplify viewing and editing permissions.

  1. Create a new project for internal issues.
  2. For each type of non-tracked time, create an internal issue in that project that can be used to log these activities.
  3. In the top menu bar, click on Tempo > Tempo Administration > Internal Issues.
  4. Select each of the issues that you wish to make internal and click the Add button.

Configuring permissions for internal issues

For many teams, maintaining the privacy of time logged in internal issues will be of the utmost importance. With the migration, there are now more options for administering permissions than before. 

  1. Navigate to your internal issues project permissions by clicking on Project in the top menu bar.
  2. Navigate to (project name) Project Settings > Permissions.
  3. Scroll down to Time Tracking Permissions. From here, you can set the viewing, editing, and deleting permissions for the project in detail. Manageable permissions include:
  • Delete All Worklogs Ability to delete all worklogs made on issues.
  • Delete Own Worklogs Ability to delete own worklogs made on issues.
  • Edit All Worklogs Ability to edit all worklogs made on issues.
  • Edit Own Worklogs Ability to edit own worklogs made on issues.
  • Work On Issues Ability to log work done against an issue. Only useful if Time Tracking is turned on.
  • Log Work for Others Ability to make worklogs for the project in Tempo Timesheets on behalf of other users. Only useful if Time Tracking is turned on.
  • Set Billable Hours Ability to set billable hours of worklogs for the project in Tempo.
  • View All Worklogs Ability to view all worklogs for the project in Tempo Timesheets.

Most teams will prefer to keep View All Worklogs permissions limited to HR Managers, Team Leads, or the like.

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.