Migration FAQ

Why are we migrating?

Tempo is moving the Tempo Timesheets add-on for JIRA Cloud to a new cloud technology and we are in the process of migrating all cloud instances to this new version, as required by Atlassian.

This new version is built upon the Atlassian Connect framework, which is a scalable platform for add-ons that supports a rich integration with JIRA Cloud. This will improve the performance and reliability of our product - our focus is now firmly on improving this new version.

You can read more about it and the associated migrations process in this blog post.

 

What your administrator needs to do

Although the migration will automatically carry forward most of your existing permissions, you should take the following steps - before and after migration - to ensure a smooth transition. 

1. Pre- or post-migration - Verify the View All Worklogs permission settings

In older versions, users that had the ‘Approve Timesheet’ permission for a Team could view team members’ worklogs. Now, the 'View all Worklogs' permission for the project is required. You should verify that the view all worklogs permissions are correctly configured for the projects your team is logging work against prior to the migration. To change these permissions, complete the following steps:

  1. Click the Gear Icon.
  2. Select Issues.
  3. Scroll down to Permission schemes.
  4. Click the Permissions link of the scheme that you want to edit.
  5. Under Time tracking permissions, scroll down to locate View All Worklogs, and click 'Edit'.
  6. Grant permissions by project role, application access, or group. If you click on ‘Show more’, you will see more options beyond the three default ones.

2. Pre- or post-migration - Ensure your teams are linked to projects

In the older version of Tempo for Cloud, the Teams custom field automatically contained all teams. In the latest version of Tempo for Cloud, the Teams custom field only contains those teams that are linked with the issue's project. Without linking a team to a project you will not be able to assign issues within that project to that team.

To link a team to a project, complete the following instructions:

  1. On the main menu bar, select Tempo > Teams. You can also click on the Teams icon on the Tempo Sidebar to the left.
  2. Click on the name of the team you want to link to a project.
  3. Click on +Link.
  4. Type the name of the project you want to link and select it from the dropdown list.

The project and the team are now linked. To unlink a project from a team, click on the Unlink dropdown that appears in the top-right corner of each linked project. For more information, see this page.

3. Post-migration - Grant users the Set Billable Hours permissions

The 'Set Billable Hours' permission for the Project is now required to add billable hours to the worklogs. To set these permissions, complete the following steps:

  1. Click the Gear Icon.
  2. Select Issues.
  3. Scroll down to Permission schemes.
  4. Click the Permissions link of the scheme that you want to edit.
  5. Under Time tracking permissions, scroll down to locate Set Billable Hours, and click 'Edit'.
  6. Grant permissions by project role, application access, or group. If you click on ‘Show more’, you will see more options beyond the three default ones.

4. Post-migration - Confirm the start day of the week

With this migration, we are no longer using JIRA's system and the ISO8601 standard for the date picker. If, prior to migration, you were using Monday as the first day of the week, you will have to manually reset this in Tempo Administration after the migration. Complete the following steps to select either Sunday or Monday as the start of your date periods.

  1. Click on Tempo Administration.
  2. On the sidebar, select Period Configuration.
  3. Under Periods > Weekly, select either Sunday or Monday.

 

What your users need to do

After the migration, your users will want to familiarize themselves with some of the new features of Tempo. Some of the changes are detailed in the articles below:

 Still other features have changed as a result of the migration. These changes are explained here:

 

Need more information?

Visit our product status page. There you will find out more about upcoming features, get live system status updates and get access to our webinars and videos.

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 4 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.